“Caterina” is back to Cinema La Compagnia (from February 15th to March 10th, 2020).

The work and art of Caterina Bueno, ethnomusicologist and singer, were based on her conviction that folk songs belonged to everyone, as they were handed down from one generation to another and continuously reworked.

CATERINA, by Francesco Corsi (Italy, 2019, 79′)

Presented in World Premiere during the last edition of Festival dei Popoli, were it was received with great enthusiasm by the public and critics and won the “Imperdibili” Prize, is the exciting portrait of Caterina Bueno, ethnomusicologist and singer who, since the ’60s, brought to the attention of the general audience the precious heritage of songs and musical traditions patiently collected in the Tuscan countryside and spread in records and concerts that gained international attention.

DIRECTOR’S NOTES

From the first steps of my research, I realized that Catherine’s story could not be told in a linear way, nor her artistic and cultural path enclosed in a chronological synthesis. That’s why I decided to tell it through different narrative levels, taking into account some biographical passages, but being guided above all by the flow of suggestions coming from her work and from the people and places she crossed in the course of her life. I decided, in short, to tell Caterina Bueno through fragments of different form and nature. (Francesco Corsi)


SCHEDULE

Saturday 15 February, 9.00 p.m. – With the director in-person

Sunday 16th February, 3.00 p.m.

Monday 17th February, 7.00 p.m.

Tuesday 18 February, 5 p.m.

Friday 21 February, 9 p.m.

Sunday, February 23, 7 p.m.

Tuesday 25th February, 3 p.m.

Saturday 29 February, 3 p.m.

Sunday 1 March, 7 p.m.

Tuesday 3rd March, 3 p.m.